About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us



Niagara's Greg Paulus is the recipient of the 2020 Joe B. Hall Award, which is presented annually to the top first-year coach in Division I college basketball.

March 23 2020


BOSTON, MA -- Niagara's Greg Paulus is the recipient of the 2019-20 Joe B. Hall Award, presented annually to the top first-year coach in Division I college basketball. 
Last Spring Paulus was named to the staff as an assistant. A few months later he was elevated to head coach. He took over under very difficult circumstances and was able to keep Niagara competitive in the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference. 

"The easy choice would have been to go with a coach that racked up a good win total or contended for a league title,” said CollegeInsider.com’s Angela Lento. “Niagara had to make a coaching change just days before the start of the season. It would have been easy for the team to just pack it in and get ready for next season, but Greg Paulus did is a terrific of keeping the team together."
A longtime Kentucky assistant, Joe B. Hall was given the task of following the legendary Adolph Rupp at the school. In his first season, Hall finished 20-8, won the SEC and advanced to the NCAA Regional Finals.
Hall coached the Wildcats from 1972 to 1985. He won two-thirds of his games (297-100), received four SEC Coach of the Year honors and won a National Championship in 1978. He also steered the program to two other Final Fours, won eight Southeastern Conference regular season championships and one Southeastern Conference tournament championship (1984). 


Lennie Acuff, Lipscomb
Shane Burcar, Northern Arizona
Quinton Farrell, Presbyterian
Dane Fischer, William & Mary
Joe Gallo, Merrimack
Todd Golden, San Francisco
Eric Henderson, South Dakota State
Juwan Howard, Michigan
Willie Jones, North Carolina A&T
Carmen Maciariello, Siena
Jay McAuley, Wofford
Bryan Mullins, Southern Illinois
Greg Paulus, Niagara
Mike Schrage, Elon
Danny Sprinkle, Montana State

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Top 10 Individual College Basketball Seasons of the Decade

2019-20 College basketball preview:

Top 8 Preseason Candidates for 2019